AWAKENING OF SPIES REVIEWS

‘This book is authentic and gripping. It is written with great authority and terrific sense of pace. It is the first in what I believe will be an unmissable series of novels.’
– Peter Oborne, Press Awards Columnist of the Year 2012 and 2016


‘I have read Awakening of Spies with great enjoyment…Very impressive – I look forward to the next!’
– James Hamilton-Paterson, Whitbread Prize winner


‘A richly detailed, and deeply engrossing espionage thriller. Brian Landers is the real deal.’
– Andrew Raymond, author of the Novak and Mitchell thriller

 

Amazon reviews

Liz B, London

5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, intriguingly intricate, satisfying finale
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Well…I did need to double back a couple of times to check who was who…but it was so worth doing as I was able to relish the twists and turns of this superb spy thriller. It is the credibility of the plot which grabs the attention whilst the unexpected is around every corner. I love how each last sentence of each chapter increases the excitement. It’s a proper read…not something to do to send you to sleep! And it’s exceptionally well written

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

David P Western

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and believable spy novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2020
Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this novel. It has a good feel for the period and the locations are excellently described. The protagonist is very believable and I warmed to him a lot. There’s no James Bond gadgetry or endless willing women, instead, it is a novel driven by a good plot and characters. The twists and turns kept me guessing as to what was going to happen and why. Almost all my guesses proved wrong, which is something I like to find. Who wants predictable? Well researched, well written and I’ve already ordered book 2.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tale of espionage
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 July 2020
Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this first volume in the ‘Dylan Series’ of spy novels which follow the exploits of Thomas Dylan, a new recruit to the British Intelligence Service who finds himself drawn into a web of high-level intrigue involving the CIA, KGB, South American gun-runners, double agents, stolen secrets and much more besides. Intricately plotted, colourfully located and containing a wealth of detail on Cold War espionage. I look forward to the next books in the series.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Stewart Ross

4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Only a few pages in, but thoroughly enjoying it. Well written, authentic and gripping. I like the central character (and the poor sod who dies on p. Xi before we’ve got going), but you need your wits about you to handle the early avalanche of names and acronymns.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

RM

5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 August 2020
Verified Purchase
Awakening of Spies has great pace, narrative, intrigue and believability that kept me turning the pages at a sprint. Thoroughly recommend it. I had read the author’s “Empires Apart” just before reading this spy thriller which was great background!! In fact I enjoyed it so much I’m going to read it again – at a more leisurely pace! Can’t wait for Families of Spies.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Alice

5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic grown up thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 July 2020
Verified Purchase
A really authentic grown up thriller. Lots of action but it’s the plot that counts. This book isn’t about fast cars and Bond-style gadgets. It’s about believable characters, exotic locations and a twisting and turning plot that all comes together in a really satisfying way. This is a beautifully written book.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Hilary

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, fast moving, full of twists and turns!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2020
Verified Purchase
Excellent book, fast moving, full of twists and turns! Can’t wait for the next one in the series coming at the end of July!

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

ATS

5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2020
Verified Purchase
A rich, engaging page turner. Everything you want from a well crafted mystery with the added bonus of accidental learning! Highly recommended

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Alex Jones

4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Spy Thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 June 2020
Introducing Thomas Dylan, as the blurb says an unlikely spy. It’s not his day job. But the powers that be at Mi-5 decide to send him on an important mission in Brazil to recover a bit of US Tech they would rather like… but why Dylan? Why not a seasoned spy who knows what he’s doing?

This espionage thriller from Brian Landers feels like a really classic spy novel. Extremely well written, it’s a quite complex and clever tale.

The pacing is spot on and It’s a deftly crafted and plotted spy story with all the thrills, spills, bad guys you could want and even a girl for Dylan..

Set in a great location, this excellent first book in a new series of thrillers really hits the spot for any spy fans out there and I am looking forward to the next in the series called ‘Family of Spies’.

An assured, original, intelligent and intriguing debut.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Polly Morgan

3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 July 2020
This was my first spy thriller and it was an intriguing introduction into the world of spies! The book follows Thomas Dylan, a new spy who has been picked for a mission for unclear reasons. He is given scant details on the assignment and what follows is an authentic, well-researched journey from stolen secrets to gripping action scenes. I did struggle with the many names and acronyms and found myself confused with the characters, so the book would benefit from a character list at the beginning. Despite this, I enjoyed the book and loved Dylan’s character – he has good instincts despite his lack of training and this made it a fun read. Thank you to @reddoorbooks and @litpr2012 for my copy in exchange for an honest review! I’m excited to begin book 2!

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Lsb23

VINE VOICE
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed spy thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2020
Awakening Of Spies is the tale of Thomas Dylan, an unassuming man who had believed he was bound for a job behind a desk, but instead ends up as a spy.

There is a marvellously complex plot, lots of action around the world, London, Holland, Brazil…. and plenty of tricks and twists to keep you hooked. There’s also a little romance too. A thoroughly gripping and engrossing spy thriller. I’ll be looking out for the next book in the series.

Thank you to Literally PR for a copy of Awakening Of Spies. This is my honest and unbiased review.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

AC

5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping plot, very atmospheric
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 July 2020
Finally, a Cold War spy thriller by an author who can write women! Having well written women really matters. The writing has a great sense of urgency, I felt like I was really there amongst the action in Rio and there are real page turning moments. Cannot wait for the next one!
2 people found this helpful

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

A. Crofts

5.0 out of 5 stars Brian Landers is the real deal
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 July 2020
Because of the author’s background this book feels entirely authentic – this must be what it feels like to become embroiled with the murky world of espionage. It is also a ripping good story.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

Marcus

4.0 out of 5 stars A good start…looking forward to No 2
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 June 2020
A nice pace, interesting characters, intricate plot…in short, a good read. I’m looking forward to the next instalment.

Helpful
Comment Report abuse

 

 

 

 

 

Website copyright © 2020 Brian Landers
Admin login | Cookie policy | Privacy policy | Website design: aerta UK